The Pacific-Rim Symposium on Image and Video Technology (PSIVT) is a high-quality series of symposia that aim at providing a forum for researchers and practitioners who are being involved, or are contributing to theoretical advances or practical implementations in image and video technology.

Previous issues of PSIVT have been held at Hsinchu, Taiwan(2006), Santiago, Chile(2007), Tokyo, Japan(2009), Gwangju, South Korea(2011), Singapore(2010), Guanajuato,Mexico(2013), and Auckland, New Zealand(2015).This eighth isssue is being held at Wuhan,China.

China is a proud member of the Pacific Rim region. Wuhan city, also known as the “Chicago of Asia”, is recognized as a political, economic, financial, cultural, educational, and transportation center in central China. It has an excellent airport, good public transportation, and excellent hotels with competitive pricing. The Yellow Crane Pagoda, Moshan park, the Hubei Museum (with unique treasures of several thousand years of history), the East Lake (with its Greenway around the lake, a newly created bicycle and walk way of nearly 30 km length), the brand-new CBD, or World City in Optic Valley are just a few examples of high touristic value.

The eighth issue of PSIVT is endorsed by the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR). The proceedings of the main conference, and the proceedings of the workshops will be published in separate volumes of Springer’s Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS).All accepted papers of PSIVT2017 will be EI-indexed.

The selected papers from PSIVT 2017 could be published in the special issues of the
IJPRAI ( International Journal of Pattern Recognition and Artificial Intelligence ) and
IJDCF ( International Journal of Digital Crime and Forensics ).(SCI indexed)

We are looking forward to see you in Wuhan.


   For enquiries, please contact


   Important dates

      Paper submission deadline :   July 14, 2017  July 28, 2017
      Paper submission deadline for workshops:  see workshop pages
      Notification about paper acceptance:   August 28, 2017
      Registration deadline for reduced rate:   September 15, 2017
      Conference date:   November 20 - 24, 2017

PSIVT 2017 Organizing Committee

Hosted by
Central China Normal University,Wuhan,China

Honorary Chairs
Zhengyou Zhang, Microsoft, Redmond, USA
Reinhard Klette, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand

General Chairs
Larry Davis, University of Maryland, USA
Antonio Robles-Kelly, NICTA, Australia
Xinguo Yu, Central China Normal University, China

General Workshop Chairs
Shin’ichi Satoh, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
Chong-Wah Ngo, City University of Hong Kong
Junsong Yuan, Nanyang Technological University,Singapore

Local Arrangement Chairs
Jingying Chen, Central China Normal University, China
Chao Sun, Central China Normal University, China

Demo / Exhibition Chairs
Tiziana D' Orazio, Institute for Signal and Image Processing, Italy
Wen-Huang Cheng, Research Center for Information Technology Innovation, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Lingyu Duan, Peking University, China

Publicity Chairs
Yong Man Ro, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Jun-Wei Hsieh, National Taiwan Ocean University, Taiwan
Liyuan Li, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Hanqing Lu, National Laboratory of Pattern Recognition, CAS, China

Program Chairs
Qingming Huang, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Carlos Hitoshi, University of São Paulo, Brazil
Simon Lucey, CSIRO ICT Centre, Australia
Manoranjan Paul, Charles Sturt University, Australia

Sponsorship Chairs
Bin He, Central China Normal University, China
Yue Wang, Institute of InformationTechnology, Singapore

Area Chairs
Fay Huang, National Ilan University, Taiwan
Michael Cree, The University of Waikato, New Zealand
Nicolai Petkov, Groningen University, The Netherlands
Phil Bones, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Li Chen, University of the DC, USA
Jian Cheng, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Uwe Franke, Daimler A.G., Germany
Hanseok Ko, Korea University, Korea
Chilwoo Lee, Chonnam National University, Korea
Wen-Nung Lie, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
Chia-Yen Chen, National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Rick Millane, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Takeshi Oishi, Tokyo University, Japan
Lei Qin, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Terence Sim, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Zhixun Su, Dalian University of Technology, China
Wei Qi Yan, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand

PSIVT 2017 Program Committee

Akihiko Torii, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo
Andrew Lambert, University of New South Wales
Andrew Martin
Antonio M.López, CVC and UAB
Arun Ross, Michigan State University, Michigan
Beng Hai Lee
Bingpeng Ma
Bo Zheng, The University of Tokyo
Chao-Ho Chen
Chia-Hung Yeh, National Sun Yat-sen University, Sun Yat-sen
Chih-Yang Lin, Asia University
Ching-Chun Huang
Chunhong Yoon, CFEL/European XFEL
Chunjie Zhang
Daniel Kondermann
Darin O'Keeffe
David Wojtas
Deng-Yuan Huang, Dayeh University
Duane Loh
Fridtjof Stein
Guo-Shiang Lin, Da-Yeh University, Da-Yeh
Hajime Nagahara, Kyushu University, Kyushu
Hideaki Uchiyama
Hiroshi Kawasaki, Kagoshima University, Kagoshima
Ichiro Ide, Nagoya University, Nagoya
Itaru Kitahara, University of Tsukuba, Tsukuba
Jian Sun
Jimmy Lee, ASTAR/I2R
Jing-Ming Guo, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology
Jinqiao Wang, Insitute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Science
Jiunn-Lin Wu
Jong Chul Ye, KAIST
Julian Maclaren
Jun Li, Institute of Infocomm Research
Junbin Gao, Charles Sturt University
Kar-Ann Toh, Yonsei University
Karthik Nandakumar
Keita Takahashi, Nagoya University, Nagoya
Li-Wei Kang, National Yunlin University of Science and Technology
Mahdi Rezaei, Qazvin Islamic Azad University
Manuel Guizar-Sicairos
Ming-Chih Chen, National Kaohsiung First University of Science and Technology

Norihiko Kawai, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
Norimichi Ukita, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
Peter Doerschuk
Reinhard Koch, University of Kiel
Richang Hong, Hefei University of Technology
Rongrong Ji, Xiamen Unviersity, Xiamen
Rudolf Mester
Rui Huang, NEC Laboratories
Ryo Furukawa, Hiroshima City University, Hiroshima
Ryusuke Sagawa, AIST
Shih-Hsuan Yang
Shohei Nobuhara, Kyoto University, Kyoto
Shuhui Wang
Shyi-Chyi Cheng, National Taiwan Ocean University
Stefan Gehrig, Daimler AG
Takahiro Okabe, Kyushu Institute of Technology
Tariq Khan, The University of Auckland, Auckland
Ting-Lan Lin, Chung Yuan Christian University, Zhongli
Tingting Jiang
Tomokazu Sato, NAIST
Wangmeng Zuo, Harbin Institute of Technology, Harbin
Wankou Yang, Southeast University, Nanjing
Wei-Ta Chu, National Chung Cheng University, Chiayi
Wei-Yang Lin, National Chung Cheng University
Wei-Yun Yau, Institute for Infocomm Research
Wengang Zhang
Wu-Chih Hu, National Penghu University of Science and Technology
Xiangyu Chen, Institute for Infocomm Research
Xiaoshuai Sun
Xiaoyi Jiang, Universität Münster
Xiujuan Chai
Xulei Yang, IHPC, A*STAR
Yanhao Zhang
Yasushi Makihara, Osaka University, Osaka
Yi Wu
Yifan Zhang, Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Yiren Su, Shu-Te University
Yongkang Wong, National University of Singapore
Yongli Hu
Zhi Zhou